New beginning…

After a 4 month break from my blog, I figured that today is as good as any other day to get back to posting.  To catch everyone up, I was offered a job here in Regina as a replacement for a teacher who would be going on maternity leave at the end of September. This is at a VERY big elementary school with almost 700 students from K-8. My position will be with the grade 5/6 french immersion class. (The schools has two streams. The french stream is approximately 1/3 of the school population).  I was fortunate enough to be offered a 2 week subbing job at this school with a different class at the start of the school year. This gave me a chance to learn how to get around the school, the atmosphere, the staff, the students, and the daily routine. I was able to spend some of my lunch breaks with my future students, which was amazing. I’m very excited to start this position on October 3rd. In the meantime, I’ve been getting myself familiar with the middle years curriculum. It is quite different than the High school Core French curriculum that we studied from front to back in my 4 years at University. One of the ways that I’ve been preparing for my classes, is searching for a french book that my class read when I was in grade 5. It took a lot of tracking down, but I was finally able to find out the title of the book, as well as a library that would lend it to me. I just received the books in the mail today, and it made my day! If anyone is ever needing french books, “Le Lien” in the town of Gravelbourg has been very accommodating and quick with their deliveries. They provide you with free shipping, and allow you to keep their resources for 3 months. I’m looking forward to using this in my classroom as well as many other ideas that I’ve come up with in the past several months!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

